ESTABLISHED: 7 December 1993

MISSION: The General Consultative Forum on the Environment advises the European Union (EU) on the implementation of the Fifth Action Programme on Environment, "Towards Sustainability". The Forum consists of representatives from the sectors of production, business, regional and local authorities, professional associations, unions and environmental protection and consumer organizations, and provides for consultation and exchange of information on the environment and sustainable development between its members and the EU. The EU intends this to be a dynamic process which will generate new views on the way sustainable development can be achieved in the EU, especially on the important question of competitiveness and environmental protection. The EU also hopes that the Forum will become a channel of communication whereby Forum members will pass the views developed in the meetings to the sectors concerned. In this way, the members will act as catalysts, ensuring the shared responsibility essential to achieve sustainable development.


a. COMPOSITION (Number of members per sector):

Ministries and governmental agencies:		10
Non-Governmental Organizations:			 6
Academic/Research Institutions:            	 2
Business/Productive Sector:              	13
Others:                          		 0


Mr. Henrik Ager-Hanssen, Vice President in the Statoil Group
Mr. Augusto Bocchini, President of COPA
Mr. Hans-Christian Bemme, Executive Director of the Tongolmann Group
Ms. Maria Buttenkamp, Director of the International Sustainability Campaign, Milieudefensie
Mr. Margarida Cancel A. D'Arrell, Responsible for Regional Policy in the Alentejo Region
Mr. Thierry Chambolle, Deputy Director General of Lyonnaise des Eaux
Mr. Peter Coldrick, Confederal Secretary of the ETUC
Mr. John Elkington, Head of SustainAbility
Mr. Carlos Ferrer, President of UNICE
Mr. Marco Gaasch, Member of the Comité de la Centrale Paysanne Luxembourgeoise
Ms. Cristina Garcia Orcoyen, Secretary General of WWF-Spain
Mr. Dieter Geiler, President of the Handwerkskammer, Braunschweig
Mr. Panagiotis Goulielmos, President of the Association for the Quality of Life, Athens
Mr. Soren Guldborg, President of Dansk Naturgas
Mr. Dietmar Hahl Weg, Mayor of Erlagen
Mr. John Kasteel, Chairman of IRU's "Transport and Environment" Task Force
Mr. Klans Kohlhase, Head of Health, Safety and the Environment, British Petroleum
Mr. Cor Koorenneef, Environmental Affairs Coordinator, Noord-Brabant Province
Mr. George Livanos, Head of the Hellenic Marine Environment Protection Association
Mr. Armando Montanari, President of the European Environment Bureau
Ms. Sandra Morelli, Regional Head of the Comitato Difesa Consumatori (Emilia-Romagna)
Mr. Patrick O'Neill, Managing Director of Avonmore Foods
Mr. Jonathan Porritt, Environment Adviser, World Travel and Tourism Council
Mr. Girogio Porta, International Affairs Director, ENI
Mr. Artemio Precioso, Environment Adviser, UGT/CC.OO
Mr. Jacques Rey, Adjoint au Maire de la Ville de Marseille
Mr. Giorgio Russomanno, Head of the Environment Sector of Confartigiamato
Mr. Ulrich Steger, Economics Professor, European Business School
Mr. Derek Wanless, Group Chief Executive, National Westminster Bank
Mr. Ernst von Weizsacher, President of the Wuppertal Institute